Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

We all know that the most important meal of the day is breakfast.

I am not sure about all of you but I am definitely guilty for not always having a healthy breakfast. Sometimes we wake up late, or we have to run out really early, other times we are just not in the mood. Either way, we should practice to get into the habit of waking up and starting our days right with breakfast.

One of my favourite, quick and very healthy choices is an oatmeal mix up. I have been having this regularly and I see the difference it makes in my day. It gives me more energy, especially for the time we dedicate to exercise, also it helps keep my metabolism working. There are many different ways to make an oatmeal mix, please find below my mix of the recipe.

You will need:

Whole grain oats

onlyoatsspoon

Milk, either fresh milk or soy/almond (whichever your preference)

dsc00156-11

A mix of seeds, such as: flaxseed, pumpkin, sesame, goji berries (my favourite is Linwoods seeds, it comes in all kinds of mixes)

71jXjYAjPBL._SY679_

1 Banana and Honey (mash the banana and mix with 1 tbl spoon honey)

DSC_00301

Now we mix it up:

– Cook the oats in milk for around 3 minutes, until the oats slightly start to bubble up.(put only a little amount of milk, enough for the bowl that you will be eating from. I prefer my oatmeal thicker, so I add less milk)

– Then add in the banana and honey and the rest of the seeds, mix mix mix.

oatmeal

Health Benefits:

Research has shown that oats has many nutritional values. High fiber foods such as oats helps prevent heart disease, also it helps remove cholesterol from the digestive system, instead of allowing it to move into the blood stream. Oats and seeds are also a great source of Vitamin E and an antioxidant to help boost our immune system, these ingredients are not only nourishing for our insides, but will also positively affect our appearance from the outside (healthy hair, nails and skin) these are only a few of its many health benefits.

I always believe with food, experiment and add away, especially with an easy recipe like this, don’t stick to any rule, add in different seeds and flavours and enjoy being healthy 🙂

